Governing body

List of governors and responsibilities

List of Governors

Chair of Governors – Janine Astley

Vice Chair of Governors – Karen Jones

Principal – Michelle Kelly

Link Governors – Geoff Hopwood

Parent Govenor - Emma Ramsden

Co-opted - Lucy Preece

Governor Responsibilities

Safeguarding – Janine Astley 

Teaching and Learning – Janine Astley

Inclusion and Special Educational Needs – Vacant

Health and safety – Geoff Hopwood 

Finance – Lucy Preece

Human Resources and Recruitment – Lucy Preece

EYFS – Vacant

The chair of governors can be contacted via Worsbrough Bank End Primary school, Underwood Avenue, Worsbrough, Barnsley, S70 4AZ

01226 282549



Worsbrough Bank End Primary School is a part of United Learning whose Trustees hold the ultimate responsibility for the governance of each United Learning school.

The Department for Education’s governance handbook 2020 identifies the essentials of effective governance as follows:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding the executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the effective and efficient performance management of staff; and
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent.

United Learning’s Trustees delegate certain key roles and responsibilities to the school’s Local Governing Body (LGB) and these are set out clearly in our Scheme of Delegation which can be seen on the United Learning website.

Click here to view the Scheme of Delegation

LGB Details

Members who have stepped down

The school is part of United Learning. United Learning comprises: UCST (Registered in England No: 2780748. Charity No. 1016538) and ULT (Registered in England No. 4439859. An Exempt Charity). Companies limited by guarantee. VAT number 834 8515 12.
Registered address: United Learning, Worldwide House, Thorpe Wood, Peterborough, PE3 6SB. Tel: 01832 864 444

Financial Accountability and Freedom of Information
Website Terms, Cookies and Privacy

United Learning