Teaching and Learning in the EYFS

The EYFS begins at birth and lasts until the end of the school year in which they turn five and attend full time. The EYFS curriculum is a planned programme of learning opportunities to help all children make progress towards a set of Early Learning Goals. These goals outline the skills, understanding, knowledge and attitudes that is expected at the end of the EYFS.

The EYFS is organised into 7 areas of learning which are:

  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Each area of learning and development is implemented through planned, purposeful play. This is achieved through a mix of adult-led activities and child-initiated activity. The environments are organised into distinct areas of provision to enable children to access organised and challenging experiences and activities based on their current needs and interests. Play is essential for children’s development, building their confidence as they learn to explore, to think about problems and relate to others.

Please click here for the EYFS themes

Please see here for our What a Wonderful World

The school is part of United Learning. United Learning comprises: UCST (Registered in England No: 2780748. Charity No. 1016538) and ULT (Registered in England No. 4439859. An Exempt Charity). Companies limited by guarantee. VAT number 834 8515 12.
Registered address: United Learning, Worldwide House, Thorpe Wood, Peterborough, PE3 6SB. Tel: 01832 864 444

Financial Accountability and Freedom of Information
Website Terms, Cookies and Privacy

United Learning